Slide background

The Sichuan Household Biogas Programme

Improving local lives and global environment!
Slide backgroundEach digester reduces carbon
emissions by 2 tons per year
All emission reductions are certified
by the CDM and the Gold Standard
Slide backgroundAnd they improve rural living
conditions tremendously!
Learn more!

Unser Sichuan Haushalts-Biogasprogramm reduziert laufend CO2-Emissionen

Aber nicht nur das:

Der Klimawandel

Während seiner Lebensdauer reduziert jede Biogasanlage 20 Tonnen CO2. Mit den geplanten 1,000,000 Anlagen wird das Programm 20 Millionen Tonnen CO2 reduzieren. Das entspricht 50% der jährlichen Emissionen der Schweiz!

Die Ländliche Bevölkerung

Die Installation einer Biogasanlage verbessert die ländlichen Lebensumstände beträchtlich. Sie reduziert die Rauchbelastung, verbessert die sanitären Umstände und vermeidet den Geruch einer offenen Fäkaliengrube.

Eine Nachhaltige Zukunft

Im Vergleich zu Kohle und Feuerholz hat Biogas viele Vorteile für die teilnehmenden Haushalte: Es ist kostenlos, es steht immer zur Verfügung und es liefert hochwertigen organischen Dünger, der die Ernte verbessert.

Unterstützen Sie das Sichuan Haushalts-Biogasprogramm! Kontaktieren Sie UPM um mehr darüber zu erfahren, wie auch Sie Teil dieses grossartigen Programmes werden können.

Latest News

Projektbeschreibung

map chinaDas Sichuan Haushalts-Biogasprogramm ist ein Programme of Activities (PoA) nach dem Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) und dem Gold Standard. Durch die Reduktion von CO2-Emissionen erzeugt das Programm ein zusätzliches Einkommen für die teilnehmenden Haushalte und stellt einen kostenlosen technischen Service für die Nutzer zur Verfügung.

Das Programm schafft Arbeitsplätze, verbessert die Luftqualität in den Küchen der ländlichen Haushalte, erzeugt saubere und dauerhaft verfügbare Energie und stellt sicher, dass alle Anlagen ordnungsgemäss gewartet werden. Um das zu erreichen, reduziert das Programm 20 Millionen Tonnen CO2! Das entspricht einer halben Jahresemission der Schweiz!

ProgrammstandortSichuan-Provinz, China
ProgrammstandartCDM, Gold Standard
Installierte Biogasanlagen395,435
Geplante Biogasanlagen bis 20171,000,000
Erreichte Emissionsreduktion

1,131,863 tCO2e

Jährliche Emissionsreduktion

876,123 tCO2e

Improving Rural Lives

Die Reduktion von CO2-Emissionen ist nicht der wichtige Hauptgrund für die teilnehmenden Haushalte, die Biogasanlagen zu installieren. Tatsächlich trägt die Technik auf vielerlei Weise dazu bei das Leben der Haushalte drastisch zu verbessern.

Durch die saubere Verbrennung des Gases wird die Luftqualität in den Küchen der Haushalte signifikant verbessert und reduziert so das gesundheitliche Risiko besonders für Frauen und Kinder. Ausserdem sparen die Haushalte Geld zum Kauf von Kohle und Zeit zur Sammlung von Feuerholz. Lesen Sie weiter und lernen Sie mehr über diese zwei und zahlreiche weitere Vorteile der Biogasanlagen.

Sie unterstützen uns

Hintergrundgeschichten: Lesen Sie, warum sich öffentliche und private Institutionen für eine Unterstützung des Sichuan-Haushaltsbiogasprogramms entschieden haben. Weitere Videos und Zitate unserer Förderer finden Sie hier.

“Das Projekt reduziert nicht nur Treibhausgasemissionen, sondern erbringt darüber hinaus auch einen beträchtlichen Zusatznutzen für die armen Kleinbauern, weil es sowohl den Ausstoß von Methan aus Viehhaltungsfäkalien senkt als auch die lokale Luftverschmutzung vermindert, indem Kohle durch Biogas ersetzt wird. Auf diese Weise versorgt es die Familien in Sichuan mit sauberer und preiswerter Energie.”

Katarina Tomoff
Katarina TomoffVP Shared Value, Go Green, Deutsche Post DHL Group

“Dieses Gemeinschaftsprojekt entspricht dem Grundgedanken unserer nationalen Politiken für Energieeinsparung und Treibhausgasminderung. Zudem spiegelt es die positive Herangehensweise unseres Landes bei der Bewältigung des Klimawandels wider. Uns motiviert die heimische und internationale Anerkennung für das Projekt dazu, dafür zu sorgen, dass Biogas im ländlichen Raum künftig noch besser genutzt werden kann.”

Zhou Nanhua
Zhou NanhuaDirektor des Sichuan Rural Energy Office (SREO)

“Das Sichuan-Haushaltsbiogas-PoA, welches von der UPM und ihren chinesischen Partnern entwickelt wird, ist das perfekte Beispiel für eine erfolgreiche internationale Initiative, die lokale Bedürfnisse nach besseren Sanitär- und Wassermanagement-Systemen sowie nach kostenloser, sauberer und bequemer Energieversorgung befriedigt und zugleich im Rahmen einer globalen Agenda Treibhausgasemissionen reduziert und den Klimawandel bekämpft.”

Prof. Heinz-Peter Mang
Prof. Heinz-Peter MangGast-Professor und Leitender Ingenieur an der Pekinger CSES-University of Science & Technology

“Es ist äußerst wichtig für uns, das Beste zu tun, um die Umwelt des Landes und der jeweiligen örtlichen Umgebung unserer Ressorts zu respektieren und zu verbessern. Das freiwillige CO2-Kompensationsprogramm, das UPM uns vorgeschlagen hat, wirkt sich nicht nur positiv auf das Weltklima aus, sondern bringt auch noch viele zusätzliche und nachhaltige Vorteile für die ländliche Bevölkerung Chinas mit sich. Zudem hilft es uns dabei, eines unserer Ziele zu erreichen, das Bewusstsein für Umweltprobleme zu steigern und Lösungswege aufzuzeigen.”

Vincent Grandsire
Vincent GrandsireGeschäftsführer von ClubMed Dong’ao Island Resort
  • UPM Logo

    UPM

    UPM ist ein führender Entwickler internationaler Klimaschutzprojekte. Im Laufe der Zeit haben wir ein vielseitiges Portfolio hochwertiger Projekte aufgebaut und generieren Zertifikate für eine Vielzahl namhafter Kunden.

  • Oasis Logo

    Oasis

    Oasis ist die Coordinating/Managing Entity des Sichuan Haushaltsbiogas-Programmes. Damit ist Oasis dafür verantwortlich alle nötigen statistischen Studien zu planen, die lokalen Mitarbeiter zu koordinieren und zu schulen.

  • SREO Logo

    SREO

    Das Sichuan Rural Energy Office (SREO) ist unser lokaler Projektpartner und verantwortlich für die Infrastruktur in Sichuan. Das SREO Netzwerk sammelt die nötigen Daten, baut die Biogasanlagen und verwaltet den technischen Service.

Das Team

Tausende Mitarbeiter sind direkt oder indirekt in unser Biogas-Programm eingebunden. Die Aufgaben reichen vom Bau der Biogasanlagen und den technischen Service, bis hin zur der Datensammlung für die Berechnung der Emissionsreduktion und die Vorbereitung der Programmdokumentation für die Registrierung bei der UN und der Gold Standard Foundation. Darüber hinaus arbeiten wir mit einer Vielzahl von externen Auditoren, Regierungsbehörden und internationalen Spendern und Investoren zusammen. Dadurch wird unser Programm zu einem der zahlenmässig grössten Emissionsminderungsprojekten aller Zeiten!

Die Koordinierung aller Beteiligten wäre nicht möglich ohne ein Team mit vielen verschiedenen Hintergründen und Fähigkeiten. Vom Anlagenbau und technischem Service zur statistischen Datenauswertung, Programmierung unserer Projektdatenbanken und der Kommunikation mit den Vereinten Nationen benötigen wir für jeden Schritt die richtigen Mitarbeiter und Partner!

Slide background

The Sichuan Household Biogas Programme

Improving local lives and global environment!
Slide backgroundEach digester reduces carbon
emissions by 2 tons per year
All emission reductions are certified
by the CDM and the Gold Standard
Slide backgroundAnd they improve rural living
conditions tremendously!
Learn more!

The Sichuan Household Biogas Programme reduces CO2 emissions

But there is more:

Mitigating Climate Change

Throughout its lifetime, each biogas digester reduces carbon dioxide emissions by 20 tons. With our targeted number of 1,000,000 digesters, that’s 20,000,000 tons of global warming CO2, half the annual CO2 emission of Switzerland!

Improving Rural Lives

Installing biogas digesters greatly improves the living conditions of the households by reducing indoor-air pollution, offering better sanitation and reducing the smell of an open manure pit.

A Sustainable Future

Using clean energy like biogas for cooking instead of coal and firewood has many advantages for the participating households: it is for free, it doesn’t need to be collected or purchased and it provides high-quality fertilizer thus contributing to better harvest!

Do you want to contribute to a more sustainable future? Contact UPM and learn more on how to become part of this wonderful programme!

Latest News


Project Introduction

map chinaThe Sichuan Household Biogas Programme is a PoA under the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) and the Gold Standard. By reducing carbon dioxide emissions, mitigating climate change and improving the local living conditions of the poorest people in Sichuan, the programme raises money to provide an additional income to the households and free technical support.

The programme creates jobs, reduces indoor air pollution, provides clean & convenient fuel and makes sure that the digesters are maintained and operated well. And to achieve that target, it reduces carbon dioxide emissions by 20,000,000 tons! That’s half the annual CO2 emission of Switzerland!

Project LocationSichuan Province, China
Programme StandardCDM, Gold Standard
Number of currently supported Households395,435
Targeted Number of Households1,000,000
Currently achieved Emission Reduction2,657,912 tCO2e
Current annual Emission Reduction883,854 tCO2e

Improving Rural Lives

The main reason for the households to install a biogas digester is not the reduction of carbon dioxide. It is the various improvements to people’s lives that make the biogas generation from animal manure and other organic waste attractive.

Whether it is the improvement of indoor air quality, the convenient availability of cooking fuel or the reduced spendings on coal and other fuels, the households have a number of benefits from joining our biogas programme and installing a biogas digester. Learn more about how the programme changes rural lives for the better!

They Support Us

Behind the scene stories: listen to public and private institutions and why they chose to support the Sichuan Household Biogas Programme. Find more video testimonials and quotes here.

“The project does not only reduce carbon emissions but it also adds significant benefits to the poor farmers and helps to reduce the harmful methane from animal manure and the local air pollution by replacing coal with biogas .So It really provides clean and cheap energies to the families in Sichuan.”

Katarina Tomoff
Katarina TomoffVP Shared Value, GoGreen, Deutsche Post DHL Group

“Such collaborative project meets the spirit of our national energy-saving and emission reduction policy. It also reflects our country’s positive attitude in coping with climate change. We will take domestic and international community’s attentions and supports as a motivating force to go forward to make the rural biogas work better.”

Zhou Nanhua
Zhou NanhuaDirector of Sichuan Rural Energy Office (SREO)

“The Sichuan Household Biogas PoA, developed by UPM and its Chinese partners, is the perfect example of a successful international initiative which answers local needs for better sanitation and water management systems and for free, clean and convenient energy sources, while contributing to a more global agenda – the reduction of GHG emissions and the mitigation of climate change.”

Prof. Heinz-Peter Mang
Prof. Heinz-Peter MangGuest-Professor and Senior Engineer at the CSES-University of Science & Technology of Beijing

“It is very important for us to do our best to respect and improve the environment of the country and local community where our resorts are. The voluntary carbon offset program proposed by UPM is not only having a positive impact on the global climate situation but has also a lot of additional and sustainable benefits for rural communities in China. Moreover, it is a good way for us to achieve one of our objectives, raising awareness about environmental challenges and ways to make things change.”

Vincent Grandsire
Vincent GrandsireGeneral Manager and Chef de Village at the ClubMed Dong’ao Resort

  • UPM Logo


    UPM is a leading company in the international carbon markets. We are an experienced developer of ambitious climate protection projects and dispose of a large and diversified portfolio of high-quality carbon credits.

  • Oasis Logo


    Oasis is the Coordinating and Managing Entity of the Programme. They coordinate all data collection, manage the local staff and organise all required trainings and workshops for the local supporters of the Sichuan Rural Energy Office.

  • SREO Logo


    The Sichuan Rural Energy Office (SREO) is our local partner and provides the infrastructure for constructing the digesters, collecting all necessary data and implement the technical service offered by the programme.

Meet the Team

Hundreds of people are involved with the distribution of the biogas digesters, the collection of data, the statistical surveys, the document management and the registration at the United Nations and the Gold Standard Foundation. In addition, we need to deal with third-party auditors, governmental authorities and international donors & supporters. This makes the Sichuan Household Biogas Programme to one of the most massive and staff-intensive carbon reduction projects ever.

All this coordination would not be possible without an international team with various backgrounds and skills. From the installation and the technical service, to statistical analysis of survey data, programming of tailor-made database software, and communication with the United Nations. Each step in the process requires the right person at the right spot!